Contact Us

20130419MLB_RCB_Goodwill_Volunteer_090_o4

The Team

The Signature Experiences initiative is led by a Senior Faculty Associate, a Special Programs Coordinator, and a committee of leaders from across the University. Within the Office of the Vice Provost, the Signature Experience team also works on other Special Programs, including establishment of interdisciplinary degrees and contributions to Cooperative Education.

Kyle Frantz, Ph.D., Senior Faculty Associate

Kyle Frantz, Ph.D., works with department chairs, faculty, staff and other stakeholders in and around Georgia State to assist in the development and implementation of three University-wide undergraduate initiatives: Signature Experiences, Co-Operative Education Programs, and University-level interdisciplinary degrees, through direct interaction with the Vice Provost. At Georgia State since 2002, Dr. Frantz is also a Professor and Science Educator in the Neuroscience Institute and Department of Biology.

Dr. Frantz received her B.A. in Psychology from the University of Pennsylvania, and her Ph.D. from the University of Florida. As a science educator, she has collaborated within and beyond Georgia State to design, implement, and investigate the effects of education and training programs such as the Institute on Neuroscience (ION) for outstanding high school students and teachers, Behavioral Research Advancements in Neuroscience (BRAIN) for undergraduates doing summer research, and Atlanta's Neuroscience Education and Training Program (NET/work) for undergraduates in two-year research assistantships.

Cheri Kersey, Ph.D., Program Coordinatoor

Cheri Kersey, Ph.D., joined Georgia State University in 2014 as the Special Programs Coordinator. Under the supervision of the Senior Faculty Associate, she coordinates activities and communications and also manages data related to Signature Experiences, Co-Operative Education Programs, and University-level Interdisciplinary degrees. She earned her BA in Sociology from Furman University in 2003.

After obtaining her undergraduate degree, Cheri spent a year in Colorado as an AmeriCorps VISTA helping students who were homeless and their families with school enrollment and getting access to community resources. A few years later, Cheri attended the University of Georgia where she obtained a M.A. and Ph.D. in Sociology as well as a Certificate in Non-Profit Management. Her research focused on interpersonal violence and romantic relationships. After graduating in 2012, Cheri worked in research as a data collector at Westat and then moved into higher education administration at Georgetown University in their Summer Programs Office.

Department Name Title Email
African American Studies Patricia Dixon Associate Professor pdixon2@gsu.edu
Applied Linguistics & ESOL Kris Acheson-Clair Director of Undergraduate Studies kclair@gsu.edu
Communication Douglas A. Barthlow Undergraduate Studies Director dbarthlow@gsu.edu
Neuroscience Kyle Frantz Professor kfrantz@gsu.edu
Physics & Astronomy Brian Thoms Undergraduate Director bthoms@gsu.edu
Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Julie Kubala Lecturer, Senior jkubala@gsu.edu
Accountancy Galen Sevcik Director gsevcik@gsu.edu
Computer Information Systems Shuguang Hong Associate Professor, Clinical shong@gsu.edu
Risk Management & Insurance Barry Wood Academic Professional bwood@gsu.edu
Nursing Michelle Nelson Assistant Professor, Clinical mnelson18@gsu.edu
Respiratory Therapy Chip Zimmerman Assistant Professor, Clinical chip@gsu.edu
Social Work Brian Bride Director bbride@gsu.edu